.

Letter: 'Deadbeats' Romney, Ryan Not Paying Fair Share

Resident Monique Begg fumes over Mitt Romney's comments about the "47 percenters."

Governor Romney sits on his high horse, towering above us all, dancing on the head of a pin.  

Below him are 47 percent of the American people, for whom he has no respect because they pay no income tax and are dependent on the federal government for all kinds of benefits to which they feel entitled. These people, he said, are not likely to vote for him. So, if elected, he’ll cut them off, which should force them to take responsibility for their own lives, especially the ones dependent on Social Security and Medicare.  

Maybe Governor Romney should take a long, hard look at his own reflection in the mirror and then ask himself if he has carried his own fair share of the tax burden or has depended on the 47 percent to carry a part of his share. After all, he pays a lower tax rate than many of us. His 2011 tax return, which he released last week, revealed a false-positive rate of 14 percent, the 14 percent obtained through clever manipulation to disguise a factual rate of 10 percent. Which leads us to wonder: What else is Governor Romney hiding from his fellow Americans?  

His running mate, Congressman Paul Ryan, also has difficulty telling the truth and accepting his share of responsibility as a taxpayer. In his 2011 income tax report, he “forgot” to include a $61,122 income derived from his deceased mother-in-law’s living trust. Now, would many among the 47 percenters forget to report a mere $61,122?  

These two candidates are deadbeats who want us to continue to support them. Their only hope is that we will look the other way and hold our noses and vote for them.  

Monique Begg
Moorestown, NJ

_______________________

Got something to say? Send letters to the editor to rob.scott@patch.com.

Vote for Obama and get a free phone September 28, 2012 at 08:42 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpAOwJvTOio
Rochester September 28, 2012 at 09:18 PM
So that's Moorestown Mama.
Pete September 28, 2012 at 10:06 PM
Does the Huff Post really teach 12 year old girls to use that language? Sure seems so............... Sure glad you refrained from that trash talk on your Free Phone video. Do the govt also pay the monthly per-call bills for you? Whoops, I mean do I pay those bills.........
Pete September 28, 2012 at 10:07 PM
Moorestown Mama rather have a phone than teeth..........
Tax Playa September 28, 2012 at 10:27 PM
@HB Lol! You are right.either way we lose. At least we can vote for conservatives at the local level. Monique- You have no clue. Reduce spend is the mantra we are voting for. Ryan is wrong, we need $15 trillion in spending cuts over 10 years not $4 Trillion. Lol
HomeBrew September 28, 2012 at 10:32 PM
GW: Don't always agree with you, but have have come to consider you thoughtful and reasonable. That's why it so painful for me to read your regurgitation of Noise Machine's talking points. Romney/Ryan bill themselves as financial, fiscal, and budgetary experts. They promise tax cuts for all. Yet, with the election about a month away, they still can't or won't say how they'll do it. That's a serious red flag that should worry you and every thoughtful, reasonable voter.
Loretta September 28, 2012 at 10:55 PM
Home brew: we know what Obama hasn't done in 4 years, except raise our debt, lose jobs and make laws without going thru Congress. He is a dictator! Romney/Ryan's plan is at least a plan and b/c you don't know what it is maybe you should investigatge a little. If you enjoy working and giving your money for Obama phones and the people who enjoy taking your money and sitting around doing nothing then Obama is your guy. You can be a socialist in your own house but don't drag the rest of the country with you. The only red flag here is the one Obama is trying to put our country under.
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:04 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:05 AM
Hey Pete... this was is at yous. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:06 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:07 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:07 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:08 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:08 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:08 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Moorestown Mama September 29, 2012 at 12:09 AM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151038178215493&set=a.61232960492.81458.7292655492&type=1&theater
Pete September 29, 2012 at 03:43 AM
Hey Moorestown Omama, don't you have an opinion of your own? Sorry, that was your opinion on your Obama Phone clip. My mistake, you do have an opinion...............
G. Williams September 29, 2012 at 04:43 AM
HB, I also respect your views if more so at the local level. I guess we will have to agree to disagree when it comes to national politics. I will admit, I am not thrilled with the performance of either party. There is much I could say about both sides of Congress, and little that is pleasant. But , seeing the direction that I believe Obama wants to take us as a country, truly worries me. Our gross expansion of government, our endless spending of borrowed money, and our ever increasing dependency on government for daily support worries me deeply. I came from very humble beginnings, 5th. of 17 children, and I can give lessons on tough, but proudly, no one in my family has ever put their hands when they instead could put them to work. Some would say there are no jobs. BS, tell that to the immigrants. In our family we created work when we couldn't find it. There's always a way, and no one ever gave us free cellphones. I'm not tooting my horn. I am killing the myth that we can't make it on our own without government. I respect those who are successful, and encourage those who are not. The degree doesn't matter, the self-satisfaction does. I have always believed that if you are not what, or where you want to be in life, you just didn't want it enough. Why do I have this deep concern that we are now going somewhere else? I sorely miss my younger days in America, but will always cherish them.
Skip's Clips September 29, 2012 at 09:11 PM
Mr Williams , your last sentence "I miss my younger days in America ..". How does that relate to Michelle Obama saying a few years ago after Obama won( paraphrase ). "There never has been a time until in my life until now that I am proud to be an American" ??
rus September 29, 2012 at 11:07 PM
Spoken like a true neo-con. You can't see her point? I pay 28% of my income in federal income taxes. Romney pays 15% (actually 10%). How does that not fit the definition of deadbeat? What really gets my goat is that you dittoheads have me, a lifelong republican, defending a liberal!
rus September 29, 2012 at 11:11 PM
WHAT? Where do I draw the line? At 28%, that's where! His fair share is 28%! Your fair share is 28%! He paid more? Are you serious? Spend a little less time watching FoxNews, it's starting to affect your ability to do math.
rus September 29, 2012 at 11:13 PM
Does anyone on this thread know what socialism is? Not the FoxNews definition, the actual definition? You wouldn't know it by these comments.
HomeBrew September 30, 2012 at 03:19 PM
GW: I too grew up in a big family (at least I thought it was big until I saw your numbers). I know that if someone said, "I don't care about them" and blew off half the family, there would be consequences -- of the negative variety. Yet that's exactly what Mitt Romney said. Growing up, sacrifice for the sake of the family often was a necessity, and always a virtue. I'm guessing the same was true for you and your family. Yet the modern GOP joyously sneers at such virtue. There's no such thing as "common good," only "Greed is Good." (In truth, the modern Democrats aren't too much different, except they're willing to throw some scraps at the little dogs.)
G. Williams September 30, 2012 at 03:34 PM
Skip, What she actually said was, "for the first time in my life, I am proud to be an American". I take that to mean that she never was before. I cannot read her mind, but do you think it had something to do with her excitement at becoming the "First Lady"? Would she still be proud if her husband had lost? I would think,anyone who is a proud american, might consider that comment offensive.
Pete September 30, 2012 at 04:24 PM
I am offended by the Obama family every day. Her frame of reference is 20 years of listening to Rev Jeremiah Wright – you know, the “God Damn America” pastor at the Obama church in Chicago. That woman is an embarrassment to every real American in this country, especially those in the military who are fighting for her freedom. She’s as bad as the President who bows, showing subservience, to foreign heads of state. The US doesn’t bow to anyone!
HomeBrew September 30, 2012 at 08:27 PM
Imagine you're Black. And imagine you grew up experiencing the struggle for civil rights and real equality in America. Then imagine how you would feel when the first Black person was nominated for the presidency. It's very possible that even you would feel real, genuine pride in America for the first time.
Pete September 30, 2012 at 09:30 PM
@Homebrew. Imagine you are an Irish, German or Italian immigrant in the mid 19th century. Or a Japanese or German in 1943. This is not a Black thing. Matters not if you were born here, shanghaied or immigrated – once you are here, you should act like an American or just leave the country. My immigrant ancestors quickly assimilated into the US culture and were thus quite successful and proud to be an American. I’ve spent many years in both small and large private industry and have not seen anyone held back because of religion, ethnicity, gender or what color shirt the person wears. We all form our opinions as a result of our environment. I’ve learned a long time ago not to prejudge anyone – but if their actions warrant it, I will judge them for those actions, based on my experience, opinion and mindset. Your life experiences may very well be different than mine, and thus your opinion, which I do respect, is just as valid as mine.
HomeBrew September 30, 2012 at 10:46 PM
My grandmother was an Irish immigrant. She used to tell me of signs that read, "No Irish need apply." JFK's election was a joyous event for her, one that deepened her pride in and love of this country.
Bill October 01, 2012 at 11:22 AM
@ Rus - Spoken like a true dolt that either can't read, or doesn't understand the tax rules in this country. He pays the correct tax rate (according to IRS regulations) for how the income was earned. Just like everyone else that has CG earnings, including President Obama. All his income comes from CG earnings. How hard is that to understand ? And unless you have no write offs, and or no investment income, you don't pay a 28% effective tax rate on all income earned.
Bill October 01, 2012 at 11:29 AM
@Rus - so you believe the US should just have a flat tax rate of 28% on all income earned, no matter the source ? When will you write a letter to the editor explaining why you think President Obama is a deadbeat? He only paid an effective tax rate of 20% last year on $800,000 of income. A lower rate then the secretary that works for him, and less then you. (That info came from ABC)

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something